It’s been years in the making.

2013 has given me new inspiration in all aspects of my life. I’ve started living life just to make myself smile, just to be happy. It doesn’t matter what that thing is. I’m finally living. Remembering that it’s not all about working that crazy Monday-Friday 8-5 office job, just to pay the bills. It’s about doing whatever I need to do to put a smile on my face.

Which leads me to writing.

There’s been a fire burning inside of me this year. I got the idea for “Life Trial Chronicles” almost three years ago, and that whole time I’ve been fighting with myself to finally get something written. This year is completely different. I have to write about it. It’s on my mind all the time. It’s one of the first things that I think about in the morning. No matter what I’m doing, I’m thinking about it in the background.  I’m constantly writing notes in my phone, on sticky notes, whatever is in front of me really, just so I don’t lose a single thought about it. I have to get the story out. There’s just no stopping it now.

There was a sudden moment of panic when it first hit me that I’ve been working on this for years already. I’ve read so many authors who say you should write your first draft in ___ weeks/months… you can really fill in that blank with whatever you want. Someone thinks that __ is the perfect amount of time. I’ve read so much about authors saying that if you’ve been playing around with an idea for years and you haven’t gotten it down, then it’s probably not that great of an idea anyway… blah blah blah…

I’ve decided I don’t care what anyone else says. I’ve got an idea and I have to write it. I have my wonderful alpha reader Jennette who thinks it’s great. Plus friends and family who ask me about it daily and want to read it (little do they know they wont get anything out of me until at least draft 4) the long story short version is: I have a story, I’m currently writing my first draft, it’s probably going to take me all year to finish it, but I’m writing it. I’m not going to let anyone stand in my way, including myself.

This blog is where I’m going to write about writing. You’ll see my journey play out. You’ll probably get some teasers about my story. Learn the reasons behind what I’m writing. See the struggles I have, because I have picked some tough topics for myself. In the end I just hope that this will encourage me to write all the time. Even if what I’m writing is just a blog entry to help stimulate more writing.

In honor of my first blog post I’m setting a goal that I think I can actually accomplish. I want my first draft done by the end of this year. I know, 8 months is a long time for some of you, but I’m thinking it’s just right for me. Deal?

Goal: Draft 1 of the “Life Trial Chronicles” will be done on December 31, 2013.

5 responses to “It’s been years in the making.

  1. Love this- go for it. Stories just need to be written sometimes, don’t they. I think the fact that you’ve still got this idea and it stays with you all he time definitely means you should write it and sometimes it takes time to get there. You can’t force it. Now is your time to write it.

Leave a Reply

